Copper Country

Good evening everyone! Tonight I thought I would share more pictures from our trip to Houghton, MI. The first day we were there we saw a lot of great places. We left Houghton and went down Covered Road towards Freda, MI. This first picture was taken on Covered Road.

After we got off of Covered Road we came into a small town called Redridge. We stopped and looked at the Redridge Dam.

This next picture was taken in Freda, MI and is the remains of the Champion Mill, which operated from 1905 to 1967. The mill was used during the mining of copper in the Upper Peninsula. 

This photo is of the shores of Lake Superior in Freda, MI. From pictures I have seen on the internet I think this was the location of the Freda Park, which was opened in 1908 and closed in 1918. 

If anyone is interested in learning more about the Champion Mill here are a couple good sites that I found:

http://www.stantontownship.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/Champion-Mill-Freda-in-operation-1.pdf

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freda,_Michigan

Hope everyone had a great Tuesday! 😀

About Marie Nagle Photography

Thank you for visiting my website! My name is Marie Nagle and I am a photographer from the Metro Detroit area. I love shooting all different kinds of photographs, but wildlife and landscapes have always been my favorite. It is my hope that you will see the same beauty in each image that I saw when I captured it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Copper Country

  1. I really like the first one of the leaf covered road. It gives a great feel of fall.

  2. MikeP says:

    WoW… love the first shot.

  3. xandreverkes says:

    The lines in your first shot are beautiful!!! Great composition!! Gorgeous!! 🙂 **

  4. I’m traveling in Lebanon at the moment, nice to see some pictures of my home state 🙂

  5. Cee Neuner says:

    I love all of these photographs. But I really like the first one!!! WOW!

  6. Gotta chime in here with the same reaction. That first shot is outstanding. The straight vertical lines of the trees that go one forever, and then the horizontal line of the road that also goes on forever. Just beautiful, Marie! Thanks for taking me on this tour also. 🙂

  7. Wonderful autumnal shot, photo #1, great feeling of height, symmetry and lovely colours. Thanks for posting it!

  8. Igo My Way says:

    I really really loved the photos especially the 1st one. Great job!

Leave a Reply

